I Decided To Be A Developer Because I Wanted Control.

I Decided To Be A Developer Because I Wanted Control.

I always loved the idea of providing solutions to things, back in our first rented apartment in Lagos, Nigeria, the idea of dismantling things and putting them back together always excited me. Anytime I was around and going to my neighbors' house, they hid their appliances; all In the name of "engineer" is coming, because according to them I always spoilt things without fixing them well…C'mon give me a break, I was just 5.

On some days when our DVD player got spoilt, I was always the first to grab that screwdriver, loosen all the nuts, and look for only God knows what was spoilt in that device. The majority of the time I was unsuccessful, but that was okay, because how in control I felt whenever I sat on the floor, looking through wires trying to fix nothing I knew about, was unexplainable.

Fast-forward to University, I applied for a Systems Engineering course, not because I wanted to feel like a hot commodity for being a lady and taking that course, but because I loved the idea of having a broad understanding, knowledge, and skill in different areas all enveloped in one course….This course encompassed Mechanical, Electrical, Computer, Programming, Aeronautics Engineering…you name it. That feeling of control and superiority, where I could manage all these parts and make decisions that could change how a thing worked enthralled me.

Until the worst happened, we went on a University strike and I felt out of control, I wasn't doing anything productive. Then the idea of Programming and Development came into play.

I had my initial fears, but the truth is, the excitement I got the first time I typed in print("hello world") into my console was my strong resolve to go into tech and never look back.

Python gave me control, it made me understand that I could sit in front of my computer and dictate how things would run; how a Graphic User Interface would work; how well I could arrange documents with the power of JSON and Pandas, and help people solve the issue of bad documentation. How through an API request, I could get first-hand information, and send messages to people to take an umbrella because rain was going to fall; how it demystified the concept behind that snake game I played on my small Nokia phone when I was a child…haha

However, inasmuch as this feeling was good, it wasn't enough, I wanted to know more. I wanted to know why I would type print("hello world") in my console and it would print that. I needed to know what was happening in the background, and what lines of code were making this happen. For all we know, those backend engineers could wake up one day and decide to suddenly tweak it, and soon the print function would have another functionality to it. That was control, that was power. I may sound like a power-driven person, but if you are a developer, you would relate to the feeling that comes with the ability to write a few lines of code, and control how the output comes out.

I promised myself not only would I learn about the backend of things, but I would also learn how to control that output with the frontend, because not only would I be able to author it, but I would also be able to market my knowledge and ideas with my Frontend applications.

This is the major reason I chose to be a developer.

Pls like, share and also comment on what inspired you to be a developer😊.